User commands in menubar

General discussions about working with the Astrobe IDE and programming ARM Cortex-M3, M4 and M7 microcontrollers.

User commands in menubar

Postby steve64 » Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:36 pm

Please consider the following extension to the IDE:
allowing to add one (or better more) user definable commands (paths to executable Windows files) under the Tools entry of the menubar.
This would be helpful, for instance, to invoke external apps for analysis, source code version control,
or any other purpose.
steve64
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:56 am
Location: Italy

Re: User commands in menubar

Postby cfbsoftware » Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:10 pm

Thank you for your suggestion. I’m pleased to be able to report that enhancement had already been planned for the next feature release.
cfbsoftware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:30 pm

Re: User commands in menubar

Postby steve64 » Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:14 am

Great! Thanks a lot.
steve64
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:56 am
Location: Italy

Re: User commands in menubar

Postby cfbsoftware » Mon Nov 19, 2018 7:29 am

We are now actively working on this enhancement. The design allows for context-sensitive parameters e.g. %FilePath%, %FileDir%, %FileName%, %FileRoot% which can be substituted with values corresponding to the file currently showing in the editor. For example, something like:

Code: Select all
%FilePath%  = D:\AstrobeM3-v6.4\Examples\General\Info.mod
%FileDir%   = D:\AstrobeM3-v6.4\Examples\General\
%FileName%  = Info.mod
%FileRoot%  = Info

Are there any other parameters that we might be able to evaluate that would be useful for the sort of commands that you are interested in?

Note - for other cases you will also be able to set an option on a command so that it prompts you for the parameters before it executes.
cfbsoftware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:30 pm

Re: User commands in menubar

Postby cfbsoftware » Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:34 am

We were planning to add a new menu item 'Open file location ...' to allow you to launch Windows Explorer in the folder which contains the current file. However, now we have a user-customisable Tools menu, that feature no longer needs to be hard-coded.

The Tools.ini file that you can use to define your own menu items will include the following entry as a working example:

Code: Select all
[Command0]
MenuItem=&Open file location ...
Path=C:\Windows\explorer.exe
Parameters=%FileDir%
WorkingFolder=%FileDir%
ConsoleApp=False
Prompt=False

Here's a preview of the end-result:
capture.jpg
capture.jpg (26.06 KiB) Viewed 1667 times
cfbsoftware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:30 pm

Re: User commands in menubar

Postby steve64 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 4:41 pm

It looks fine, looking forward for the release...
steve64
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:56 am
Location: Italy

Re: User commands in menubar

Postby cfbsoftware » Sun Feb 10, 2019 6:19 am

v7.0 of Astrobe has now been released. The Tools menu now has three additional items by default. All of these have been implemented just by adding entries to the new Tools.ini configuration file:

ToolsMenu.jpg
Tools Menu
ToolsMenu.jpg (31.22 KiB) Viewed 941 times
cfbsoftware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:30 pm


Return to Astrobe for ARM Cortex-M3, M4 and M7

cron